IRS Offers Tax Relief for Victims of Hurricane Florence

More About | Tax | Risk & Regulatory

The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) announced on September 15 that Hurricane Florence victims in parts of North Carolina will have access to limited tax relief in order to file certain individual and business tax returns and make certain tax payments. Certain deadlines falling on or after September 7, 2018 are granted additional time through January 31, 2019 to file returns and pay taxes originally due in this period. The IRS is offering the relief to areas qualifying for individual assistance as determined by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). The relief applies affected businesses and individuals with an IRS address record locator in the following North Carolina counties:

  • Beaufort
  • Brunswick
  • Carteret
  • Craven
  • New Hanover
  • Onslow
  • Pamlico
  • Pender

Taxpayers affected by Hurricane Florence during this time period but not located in the counties above may still apply for relief if their records necessary to comply with the deadline were in an affected area. Check back with the link below for updates and possible expansions to the designated affected areas.

For more information: